Mark your calendars! DFALS17 will be BIGGER and BETTER than ever. Leadership Studio builds bold, empathetic student leaders with the power to make change on their campuses and for the rest of their lives.
This year, DFA teams will explore: "How can we expand accessibility in urban areas?" Over 6.8 million Americans use assistive devices to help them with mobility. DFA teams will work to ensure the inclusion of those with differing abilities into the fabric of our communities and the future development of our cities.

WHEN August 3rd - 7th

WHERE Northwestern University

Join the fun. Use design innovation for social good. #DFALS17!

Why Attend Leadership Studio?

Connect with DFA students from campuses around the country and share studio best practices. Hear from top social innovators and design professionals.

Practice the design process from start to finish, mastering design methods from building empathy to testing prototypes.

Collaborate with community members and provide valuable insights to partners and organizations to create real impact with your project.


DFA Student Registration:
Studios Sending 2-3 Members: $75 per person
Studios Sending 4+ Members: $60 per person

Contact for more information on multi-leader discounts.

Register here.


Semester schools register by May 21st
Quarter Schools register by June 11th


Discount hotel rooms are provided by Hyatt House Evanston.
$159 + tax per night per room (1-2 guests)
$169 + tax per night per room (3+ guests)

Hyatt House Evanston is in walking distance to Northwestern's campus. Breakfast is included with the room.

Call 847-864-2300 or book online here and provide the group code G-HDFA to receive the discounted rates.

If booking online enter the code in the 'Corporate or Group Code' section of the Special Rates booking option.

Rooms must be booked by July 15th to receive the group rate.


Evanston, IL is located north of Chicago.

Public transit to and from O'Hare or Midway airports is available.

To enjoy all the LS 17 festivities and limit travel time and expenses, it is strongly encouraged to book housing in Evanston.


DFA has a limited number of partial, need-based scholarships available.

We ask that you that you request the minimum scholarship which allows you to attend so that we can work with others in need, too.

Applications due May 14th.
Click here to apply.

Check out photos from LS 2016!